What Can I do?

 
 

Take action to stop the plant!

( Thanks Dan for putting all this together! )

Yes, I do believe we could stop this if enough people knew about it!  There are thousands that live in the immediate area. There are hundreds who use the Cedar River Trail daily. There are many who recreate and fish in the Cedar River itself. Yes, there are bald eagles, mating and nesting nearby, possibly on the site itself.

Yes, the moratorium will be up 13 MAY, so we need to move quickly now, there's not much time! If the moratorium expires, Lakeside will be free to submit the construction permit, which WILL get approved if nothing major happens to stop it.

WE NEED TO GET THE MORATORIUM EXTENDED SO THE MULTITUDE OF ISSUES CAN BEGIN TO BE ADDRESSED.

NEXT STEPS...

1. TALK TO YOUR NEIGHBORS - ASK IF THEY KNOW ABOUT THIS! If they don't tell them about it!

2.  Contribute to our legal fund if you have the means. https://www.gofundme.com/169asphaltplant

3. Sign the Change.org petition (https://www.change.org/p/lakeside-industries-stop-the-build…), or sign up for the Facebook group Citizens To Stop SR 169 Asphalt Plant (https://www.facebook.com/groups/SR169asphalt/):

4. CALL, WRITE, TWEET, Contact on Facebook: King County Executives/Council Members/KC DPER (see contact information below). It would be wonderful if you could write and email and CC or BCC everyone on it.

5. CALL, WRITE, TWEET, Contact on Facebook: news organizations: Renton Reporter, Renton Patch, Voice of the Valley, Seattle Times, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, News Tribune, KOMO (Ch. 4), KING (Ch.5), KIRO (Ch.7), KCTS (Ch. 9), KCPQ (Ch. 13), talk radio, podcasts, any place that you get news. Alison Morrow, Get Jesse, etc!

6. Talk to your Home Owners Association/Community Group/Exercise Group/Church Group/Social Group...ask if they know about this! If they don't, tell them about it!

7. Post a notice on a bulletin board, notice board, and/or put it in your newsletter.

8. Make SIGNS and put them up in the area, or give them to others to put up. We need all the help that we can get.

9. Come to a PROTEST: There's one happening this Saturday, 5 May at 2:00 pm, 18825 SE Renton Maple Valley Rd (old Sunset Materials/King County Shops site) Across MV Hwy. Near Cedar River Trail.
Another protest this coming Wednesday, 9 May, from 7-8:30 am or 4-5:30 pm, (https://www.signupgenius.com/go/10c0d4aa8af23a4fe3-wed).

10. Other people that may care about this issue:

  • Muckleshoot Tribe of Indians, they have fishing rights to 50% of the fish on the Cedar River.
  • Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife
  • Seattle Public Utilities (they own the water rights in the area)
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Puget Sound Clean Air Agency
  • Forterra
  • Renton city council members
  • Maple Valley council members (remember MV immediately moved to block Lakeside from placing the asphalt plant there, so they moved it to unincorporated King County)
  • CONTACT INFO:

King County Execs/Council Members we need on our side in this issue:

Dow Constantine, King County Executive
kcexec@kingcounty.gov

Fred Jarrett, Deputy King County Executive
fred.jarrett@kingcounty.gov

King County Council
206-477-1000

Rod Dembowski, District 1
rod.dembowski@kingcounty.gov
206-477-1001

Larry Gossett, District 2
larry.gossett@kingcounty.gov
206-477-1002

Kathy Lambert, District 3
kathy.lambert@kingcounty.gov
206-477-1003
staff: April.Sanders@kingcounty.gov

Jeanne Kohl-Welles, District 4
jeanne.kohl-welles@kingcounty.gov
206-477-1004

Dave Upthegrove, District 5
dave.upthegrove@kingcounty.gov
206-296-1005

Claudia Balducci, District 6
claudia.balducci@kingcounty.gov
206-477-1006

Pete von Reichbauer, District 7
pete.vonreichbauer@kingcounty.gov
206-477-1007

Joe McDermott, Council Vice Chair, District 8
joe.mcdermott@kingcounty.gov
206-477-1008

Reagan Dunn, District 9
reagan.dunn@kingcounty.gov
206-477-1009
staff: bryn.vanderstoep@kingcounty.gov,
lisa.labrache@kingcounty.gov

Others of importance to contact:

King County Department of Permitting and Environmental Review (DPER)
ddeswebinquiries@kingcounty.gov

Name: James (Jim) Chan
Title: Assistant Director for Permitting
Group: DPER - Assistant Director for Permitting
Email: jim.chan@kingcounty.gov
Phone: 206-477-0385

Name: Randy Sandin
Title: Product Line Manager - Resource
Group: DPER - Resource
Email: randy.sandin@kingcounty.gov
Primary Phone: 206-477-0378

Name: Fereshteh Dehkordi-Westerlund
Title: Project/Program Manager III
Group: DPER - Resource
Email: fereshteh.dehkordi@kingcounty.gov
Phone: 206-477-0375

Name: Ty Peterson
Title: Product Line Manager - Commercial; Interim Product Line Manager - Resource
Group: King County Department of Permitting and Environmental Review (DPER)
Email: Ty.Peterson@kingcounty.gov
Phone: 206-477-0449

EPA Tribal liaison for Washington
Alan Moomaw (moomaw.alan@epa.gov) 360-753-8071 Lacey Washington

Bruce Duncan (duncan.bruce@epa.gov) 206-553-0218 About the Office of Environmental Review and Assessment

Joanne Moore (moore.joanne@epa.gov) 206-553-0310 About the Office of Environmental Cleanup

Jayshika Ramrakha (ramrakha.jayshika@epa.gov) 206-553-1788 About the Office of Water and Watersheds

Report Environmental Violations
https://echo.epa.gov/report-environmental-violations

Contact EPA's Region 10 Office in Seattle
https://www.epa.gov/…/forms/contact-epas-region-10-office-s…

Signs:

 
plant-overview.jpg